Ninja At First Sight, Penny Reid – Book Review

1459165497497

27261686

Add to Goodreads

Add to Amazon

What do a cynical former Marine and a sheltered former Olympic contender have in common?
Nothing.
Absolutely nothing.
He has a girlfriend and she’s never been kissed.
He’s sullenly sarcastic and she’s earnestly empathetic.
He can’t stop thinking about her.
She knows she should keep her distance.
Nevertheless, when opposites attract, the results may be unexpected, but they’re also undeniably magnetic.

1459165556078

I will start by telling you guys about this wonderful woman who I absolutely adore. Her name is Penelope Reid. And I love her. I love everything that she’s ever written. Each and every word that has been written by Penny Reid, is loved. Emphatically and wholly and irrevocably. I love Quinn and I love Nico and I love Alex and I love Drew and I love Duane and I love Martin. I love all of them, because they’re a product of her imagination, and I can not begin to tell you how much I love her imagination.

The way she spins words and gives them her own, unique, Penny touch is absolutely amazing. I have been hooked on Penny Reid’s novels since I read the first one last year. Post that, it was never enough and I’ve read everything by her. (Well, almost everything. I still have to read Hooker and the Hermit. I promise I’ll get to it soon!) But, yeah, I’ve read her books, I’m a religious follower of her blog, I love her Twitter feed and I stalk her on Pinterest. So, yeah, you get the picture. I love her. Period.

So, of course, it was no surprise when I found out about Ninja At First Sight, I had to read it. I admit I was delayed because life got in the way, but I’ve finally read it and I absolutely love it. I love Greg almost as much as I love Quinn and that’s saying something because you can not imagine how much I love Quinn Sullivan. Greg is almost at par. So, good work, Greg Archers. You should be proud of yourself.

The story starts with Fiona saying goodbye to her uptight mother and her mostly absent father as she moves into dorms to start college. Fiona is a homebody and doesn’t really leave the comfort of her dorm except when she’s in class or eating or at the gym or when Dara has Hivan over. She doesn’t have many friends but she’s content to let it stay that way. She’s a shy girl who has never dated. She’s never been kissed either.

All that changes when Fern, a girl who lives on her floor takes it upon herself to introduce Fiona to all the people living in their dorm building, including the boys. (Yes, she stays in co ed dorms. How cool is that?) Anyway, this leads to her meeting Greg. Suffice to say that they’re quite taken with each other from the get go.

Their conversations revolve around misogyny and manifestos and sexism. Greg loves to challenge Fiona in debates and she answers him right back. Greg also seems to have an obsession with seeing Fiona do a back flip. (Spoiler : She does actually do a back flip for him later in the story.)

The story is in essence, a long torturous foreplay before Fiona ‘Fe’ and Gregory ‘Greg’ finally get to their wits and get together. And I love it. It’s adorable and geeky and witty and downright hilarious.

That’s the thing about Penny’s books though, they’re always funny and witty and the girls are strong and resilient and the guys are sarcastic/funny and absolutely swoon worthy. Just like Greg (Quinn still wins though. Sorry, Greg!).

I adore this. I adore Greg and I adore Fiona. I especially adore Greg’s Shakespearan insults. Not many people can pull them off, but Greg does it beautifully. So, points for that. And, he can turn anyone into a hot mess in minutes. Brownie points for that. And, he loves Fiona. A lot. And by lot, I really mean a lot. Which means, we have a winner, ladies and gentlemen! And the winner of one Fiona is Greg!

I loved this novella which gave us insight into Greg and Fiona’s relationship and I can’t read to read their complete story in Happily Ever Ninja, which should be out in 2 days! So, suffice to say I’m just about bouncing off the walls in anticipation.

Providing ratings for pieces of art seems to belittle them, mainly because there aren’t enough ratings in the world, but we’ll try to settle.

1459165616958

_20160402_202131

But I want to be your only source of romantic situations from this point forward.

I want to be your first everything.

Happy Readings! ❤

Leave a Reply

