Slumber, Christy Sloat – Book Review

1459165497497

24517353Not all princesses get their happily ever after…
They tell me I killed my boyfriend Phillip in cold blood. I stabbed him twenty one times. I’m only seventeen years old, and I am serving life in Spindle Ridge Asylum for the Criminally Insane.
I don’t remember killing him, so it’s really hard to believe I’m capable of murder. In fact I don’t remember anything before I came to Spindle Ridge, not even my boyfriend.
I can only grasp onto my realistic dreams while the madness of the asylum threatens to pull me under. I dream I’m a beautiful princess and there is an evil faerie named Maleficent who is bent on my destruction. The dreams are the closest thing I have to memories of my life, except they aren’t real.
I’m crazy. I’m not a princess.
They’re the mad illusions of an irrational teenage girl, right?
They’ve assigned me a new doctor, and she says I can trust her, and that she’ll help me see the truth of who I really am.
When she arrived she brought a new patient, Sawyer, who is everything Spindle Ridge isn’t: exciting, mysterious and beautiful. He promises he’s here to rescue me. Trusting either of them frightens me.
Could it be possible that my dreams are more than just the imaginings of a delusional girl? Could they be truth?

1459165556078

*The author provided a free copy in exchange for an honest review*

Okay, so I just absolutely, totally, completely, wholly, phenomenally, irrevocably love this. I heart it! It is absolutely fucking amazing. There are no words really!

tumblr_lsm7kdthrn1qbgwao

This isn’t even enough to describe it. It is the absolute best thing I’ve read in a while. Everything from the plot to the characters to the dialogue and the scenes. I love everything. It’s just phenomenally written.

tumblr_inline_o0iejnmucl1r4jktp_500

In case you didn’t realise, that’s me with stars in my eyes after reading this story. Yes, I loved it so much! This isn’t even enough to describe it.

The story picks up with the female lead, Aurora or ‘Rory’ as she is called, in the asylum. They say she’s there because she murdered her boyfriend, Phillip, in cold blood b stabbing him twenty times. The thing is, Rory doesn’t remember doing that. So, she is found mentally unstable and sentenced to a life in the Spindle Ridge Asylum where the doctors need to work on her so she can remember.

However, Spindle Ridge isn’t your average asylum and hosts a lot of secrets. Nothing is as it seems and as the new director, Dr. Malisa ‘M’, forces Rory to remember things as fast as she can, Rory can’t help but think that the doctor has something to do with why she was in the asylum in the first place.

Things change when a new doctor, Dr. Gray, is appointed to look after the patients. The stories that she tells Rory are hard to believe, especially because she claims that Rory is infact a princess. Sawyer, the new asylum inmate doesn’t help matters when he declares that they’ve been in love for as long as he can remember. Thing is, Rory doesn’t remember him or Dr. Gray, both of whom pledge that they’re friends and want to save her.

With no recollection of her past life, Rory needs to make decisions, to chose who to believe and to fight for her freedom. Can she do it in time and save everybody in the asylum from a fate worse than death?

Intense, yeah? That’s what I thought too. The characters are all amazingly written with each having a distinct voice. They have such conflicting personalities and their actions and emotions are all over the place. The way they have been described – their thoughts, emotions and actions – is all beautiful. The character development is phenomenal and each scene helps in building the character to where they get to in the end of the story.

Rory, the heroine, is brave and mighty. She stands for what she believes in. Though she is portrayed as a timid, scared inmate in the beginning of the story, as the plot progresses, the real Rory appears. Her transformation is absolutely phenomenal. She has character, strength, courage and morale. It’s a delight to read, really. Besides being determined to leave, she’s also a girl in love. And all her emotions – the butterflies, the nerves, the longing – are so aptly described in the book. I especially love all her scenes with Sawyer because they show such a range on emotion that they always leave you wanting more.

Sawyer, the hero, is just as amazing. He loves Rory more than anything in the world. So much so that he is willing to risk death just to save her. It’s because of his love for her that he’s so strong and brave. He’s there for Rory every step of the way, a constant in her ever changing life, a shoulder to cry on, a hand to support and a heart to love. The lengths at which he’s ready to go to protect her is just amazing. I love him. I absolutely, completely, totally, love him. And I need him in my life. He’s so perfect! *sighs*

All in all, an a amazingly written story. Would I recommend it to others?

week-in-review-robert-pattinson-gifs-divergent-music

And, just one thing to say to Christy!

tumblr_inline_ngwi6d7rwm1r6362p

Thank you for writing such an amazing story!

1459165616958

_20160402_202131

“I knew why I had fallen for him, and it wasn’t because I was young and foolish. It was because he was everything I wanted in my life. He was freedom from my duties as a princess. He was fun and laughter when I was stuck inside with my studies. He was the beauty when I was in a world where evil lurked around in the shadows.” – Rory.

BOOK LINKS –

Goodreads | Amazon | B & N

1459166946983

AWAKEN (SLUMBER #2)

26248930“Happily ever after is hers for the taking.”
Once upon a time I found myself locked away in Spindle Ridge Asylum, punished for a murder I didn’t commit. It was all part of Maleficent’s evil plan. I didn’t remember who I was then … now I do. My name is Aurora, and I am the rightful queen of this realm. Armed with my memories, I’m ready to take charge of my kingdom once more. Happily ever after evades me, yet I long to claim it with my true love, Sawyer, beside me. That fairy tale ending seems impossible with him locked in the thralls of a sleeping curse. As much as I’d love to sit by his bedside and eagerly await a cure, I must first travel into the terrifying Dark Woods to stop Raven from stripping me of all that is rightfully mine. I am not only a queen, but a warrior who will fight for her kingdom. Some may die. Blood will be shed. But when this ending comes, I will settle for nothing less than a blissful ever after.

Goodreads | Amazon

1459165672531

5445209Christy Sloat is a SoCal born girl who resides in New Jersey currently with her husband, two daughters and Sophie her Chihuahua. Christy has embraced the love of reading and writing since her youth and was inspired by her grandmother’s loving support. Christy passes that love of reading, writing, and creativity to her daughters, family, and friends. When you do not find Christy within the pages of a book you can find her being mommy, wife, crafter, and dear friend. She loves adventurous journeys with her friends and can be known to get lost inside a bookstore. Be sure to venture into her Past Lives Series, The Visitor’s Series, and watch for many more exciting things to come.

LINKS –

Website | Goodreads | Amazon | Facebook | Twitter

2 thoughts on “Slumber, Christy Sloat – Book Review

Leave a Reply

