The Player And The Pixie, Penny Reid & L. H. Cosway – Book Review

ThePlayerPixie_Tour

The Player and the Pixie
by L.H. Cosway and Penny Reid
Publication Date: April 12, 2016
Genres: Contemporary, Romance, Sports, Humor

PATP

Purchase: Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon AU | iBooks | Kobo | Barnes & Noble

1459165497497

How can someone so smokin’ hot be so bad in bed? I mean, Sean Cassidy is absolute rubbish. RUBBISH. He is the epitome of walking, talking false advertising and I want a refund! Plus he’s an arsehole. So… what is wrong with me that I can’t stop thinking about him?

The Pixie and the Player is a full-length, romantic comedy novel, can be read as a standalone, and is the second book in the Rugby Series.

THE PIXIE
Lucy Fitzpatrick doesn’t like rugby.

As the little sister of Ireland’s most infamous rugby player, Lucy can’t seem to escape the championship-sized shadow cast by her big brother, or her mother’s frequent attempts to micromanage her future. Her rainbow hair is as free-spirited as her quest for inner peace, yet overbearing expectations keep bringing her down. And when she’s down, her compulsive little problem lands her in seriously big trouble.

THE PLAYER
Sean Cassidy is a cold-hearted brute… or so he’s been told. Frequently. By everyone.

His blonde locks, baby blues, and rock hard bod make ladies the world over drool with desire. As the rugby world’s second most infamous player, he should be basking in his success. But Sean has never been content settling for second place, and his frequent confrontations with Lucy’s big brother leave him cold. And when he’s cold, his compulsive little problem lands him in the lap of Lucy Fitzpatrick.

THE PLAN
Sean has a problem only Lucy can solve. Lucy has a problem only Sean can fix. The solution seems obvious: you scratch my back, and I’ll bail you out of jail. But when their business arrangement unexpectedly leaves Sean scorching hot and Lucy on the precipice of inner peace, can they convince the world—and Lucy’s big brother in particular—that this is the real deal?

Either way, both the Player and the Pixie are about to teach each other some pretty monumental lessons about family, life, but most importantly, love.

1459165556078

*ARC provided for in exchange of an honest review. Seriously, if it weren’t for the tour, this review would have been up earlier. Thanks to the ARC, I was done reading almost a week before the book even released! :p*

Well, because this is, again a Penny Reid book, we cannot start before the mandatory fangirling that is solely reserved for this one amazing, amazing author. I mean, seriously.I can never ever get enough. I believe that if Penny lived long enough to write hundreds of thousands of books and I was around long enough to read each and every one of them, it still wouldn’t be enough and I would still want more of Penny and her writing and her stories. Because she is totally amazing like that, isn’t she?

Coming to the story, well, as you guys know, I loved the first book in the series. We saw me fangirling about it just a couple days ago. In case you didn’t read the review for The Hooker and The Hermit which had me squealing for ages, here it is – The Hooker and The Hermit, L. H. Cosway and Penny Reid – Book Review.

And after that pathetic and shameless show of self promotion, we can finally move on!

18576607

Okay, Dan looks a little too cute in this for me to just ignore the awesome GIF I graced you with without commenting on it. So, yes, this is so cute! And, it’s Privet Drive, so bonus points for that. ❤

But, moving on (for real this time). I absolutely, completely adore this. I really do. (As if we should have expected anything less out of Penny.) This was an absolute delight to read. It was, in equal parts, funny, charming, romantic and sexy. It was smart and cute and adorable. I absolutely loved it. ❤

I believe that these ladies get better with every story they write together. I mean, yes I don’t like Sean as much as I love Ronan (come on! Let’s get real here, okay. In Ronan v Sean, Ronan wins every time, hands fucking down. There is absolutely no question in this.) But, still. The way that his story is brought out and his character is shaped is pretty interesting. It gives you a lot of insight into him as a person and makes you understand him so much better. And, you know what? He is not such a bad person after all. In fact, he is quite the charmer.

1460434350056

See what I mean? Sure, what he feels for Ronan is just jealousy, plain and simple and he feels that Ronan gets by things easily and is well loved by everyone who comes across him. Yes, his issues with Ronan are petty. But, that makes him a more believable character in my opinion. Because, let’s face it, us humans are petty. And jealousy is one of the most common emotions people feel toward each other. We get hung upon stupid things and let them drive a wedge between us. So, yeah Sean is more believable because of his issues with Ronan.

He comes from a dysfunctional family and has issues with them. But, still he doesn’t let that faze him too much and he’s such an amazing person despite everything that he’s been through. That makes him all the more admirable to me.

He’s strong and smart and kind and caring and loving. And, he doesn’t let people see this side of him. Nobody knows what an amazing person he really is, before Lucy comes into his life. His only support is his cousin Eilish. He’s so amazing with her, it just makes my heart melt!

And, when he is with Lucy! My! I do not have words to describe it. Seriously. He is just so very amazing it makes my heart burst with joy!

tumblr_m2aq8govx21qeh95i

They are sooooo cute together. Really, it is a treat to watch. And then, Sean goes all romantic at the times you least expect him to and your heart will just melt into this puddle of gooey happiness on hearing him.

1460434661232

Did your heart melt a little? ‘Cause mine sure did! He’s just really so good. He’s funny and has a kickass sense of humor, he plays awesome rugby, he’s a little rough around the edges, he’s kind and caring and protective and loving and cute and adorable and sexy. Yeah. What else do you need in a man?

tumblr_inline_mgu0u41nf31qj6ih4

Talking about Lucy, she’s a little firecracker, let me tell ya! She’s spunky and straight forward and she doesn’t take shit from no one. She’s absolutely rubbish at remembering names and so she gives all her friends and acquaintances nicknames based on hilarious situations so that she can remember their names. It’s funny, really.

She thinks the world of her brother and really, really loves him. So much so that she’s willing to sacrifice the love of her life for her brother. Yeah, that much. I love her! She’s sorta dreamy really. Definitely my girl crush!

giphy

I love her outlook in life and how she’s so damn positive about everything. She’s loyal to a fault, as we already know. She’s also an amazing, amazing friend. She’s never really had friends before Annie because of her eccentricity and Ronan’s protectiveness. But, she’s such a good friend to Annie that it’s amazing to read. And then there’s Broderick who’s her best friend. They’re awesome – ly awesome together! There’s never a dull moment when those two are together. So, yeah.

1460434097113

She’s so clueless about how amazing she actually is that it’s funny at times. Of course her self esteem issues are ingrained deep within her, but it doesn’t change the fact that I wish she knew just how damn amazing she is all the time. Sean obviously goes a long way in making her believe in herself but at times it’s heartbreaking to see such an amazing person think so lowly of themselves. I love how Sean makes her feel more comfortable in her own skin. He’s so damn proud of her that it makes her proud of herself. So, yes, it’s amazing.

tumblr_inline_nkwvh5et981rpyt5d

Coming to their relationship as a couple, let’s get one thing straight.

anigif_enhanced-buzz-13808-1422968440-8

Seriously, I do. They’re so freaking shit amazing together, there are no words for it. They are the sort of couple who are made for each other et all. It is such a pleasure to know them and to read their story. Seriously. Totally and completely amazing. Theirs is the kind of relationship that has the perfect balance. They love each other and they’re so comfortable with each other. They joke around like the best of friends, they bicker like siblings, they taunt each other like frenemies. It’s like their relationship has elements from all kinds of relationships out there and they just accept and embrace everything about each other so easily. They never make the other feel any less of them because of whatever issues they may have. That, I believe is really important in any relationship.

1460434975159

Theirs is a relationship of the dreams. Like I feel like doing stuff like this –

tumblr_mi7v4c3Szg1s0f10io7_250

Yes, like a dream sequence out of a movie. (And, yes, I am kind of obsessed with the guy in all these GIFs. *sighs*)

This is an amazing, amazing story which has the perfect blend of romance, passion, humor and all other stuff that is a must read for all romance fans out there. Please, go and read this book, because you are so missing out if you haven’t!

I am in love with this book just as much as I love this one GIF of the coy lip biting by this one man –

tumblr_mh72lywxfb1s4syxto1_500

(Come to think of it, he looks absolutely HAWT in a beard. He’d make perfect Winston brother, ya know!)

And, now, I’m sitting here, desperately waiting for The Cad and The Co – Ed excitedly because these two ladies can never go wrong!

tumblr_inline_o0iejnmucl1r4jktp_500

1459165616958

_20160402_202131

(PS: All images are courtesy of Tumblr and Google and Pinterest. I only added the quites on the photos. So, thank you, creators for the amazing photos!)

1460788046527

Goodreads | iBooks | Amazon | B & N | Kobo | Smashwords

1459166946983

23285659New York’s Finest
Blogging as *The Socialmedialite*
April 22
LADIES AND GENTS! I have an announcement!

You know that guy I featured on my blog a few months ago? The really, really hot Irish rugby player who plays the position of ‘hooker’ in the RLI (Rugby League International)? The one with the anger management issues, the body of a gladiator and the face of a movie star? The one with the questionable fashion choices leading me to ask whether he was the lovechild of a leprechaun and a hobbit? Ronan Fitzpatrick? Yeah, that guy.

Well, I have a confession to make…

THE HERMIT

Annie Catrel, social media expert extraordinaire at Davidson & Croft Media and clandestine celebrity blogger, can make anyone shine in the court of public opinion. She is the Socialmedialite, anonymous creator of New York’s Finest and the internet’s darling. Virtual reality is Annie’s forte, but actual reality? Not so much.

THE HOOKER

Ronan Fitzpatrick, aka the best hooker the world of rugby has seen in decades, despises the media—social or otherwise. The press has spun a web of lies depicting him as rugby’s wild and reckless bad boy. Suspended from his team, Ronan has come to Manhattan to escape the drama, lay low, fly under the radar. Only, Ronan isn’t easy to overlook, and he can’t escape the notice of the Socialmedialite…

THE PLAN

When Ronan is sent to Davidson & Croft Media to reshape his public image, he never expects to cross paths with shy but beautiful Annie, nor does he expect his fierce attraction to her. He couldn’t be happier when her boss suggests pairing them together.

What lengths will Annie take to keep her virtual identity concealed? And what happens when the hooker discovers who the hermit really is?

Goodreads | Amazon

1460012726178

*Sean*

I didn’t know what I was doing.

Requests, things I wanted, words I would never speak or allow myself to think were now uncontainable.

It’s the sex, I reiterated. Again. I’d used this explanation, now on repeat, as a simple justification for the complex cacophony of my mind.

“Be with you?” Her long, dark lashes fluttered, beating like distressed butterfly wings against warming pink cheeks.

I licked my lips, tasting her there. “Yes.”

She stared at me, confused. I was also confused. And oddly frightened.

Because it wasn’t the sex.

Several seconds ticked on as we studied each other in breathless silence. She found her voice before I did. “What does that—”

“Lucy?” Annie’s voice was paired with a soft knock on the bathroom door. “Are you okay?”

I opened my mouth to whisper a clarification to the question Lucy hadn’t quite posed, because I was compelled to tell her it wasn’t the sex. We didn’t have to have sex. We could just . . . talk. Or play cards. Or touch. Or look at each other from across the room.

We could merely be together.

But she covered my mouth with her hand. Her features arrested with unmistakable panic.

“Yes. I’m fine! I just . . . started my period is all. Made a mess in my jeans, like a crime scene.” Lucy hollered in response then grimaced. She immediately mouthed I’m sorry to me. Her cheeks flushed red.

I lifted an eyebrow. She rolled her eyes, ducking her head with obvious embarrassment. I pressed my lips together so I wouldn’t laugh.

Issuing me a quelling look, Lucy released me and skittered out of the stall, whispering, “Stay here and count to three hundred.”

“Oh! Do you need anything?” Annie’s voice was less muffled and I surmised she’d opened the bathroom door.

“Ah, no. Have it all sorted now. Thank God Tom has these nice absorbent napkins instead of those troublesome hand driers. Although I feel like I’m wearing a nappy. They’re bad for the environment, so I should talk to him about replacing the napkins. Maybe make a few available for emergencies . . .”

Lucy’s anxiety-riddled chatter faded as the bathroom door clicked shut.

I released an audible exhale. My heart was beating as though it might leap from my chest. I needed to catch my breath. Neither had anything to do with being caught.

What the fuck were you doing?

It was the sex. She’s phenomenal in bed. You’ve never had that before. It was just sex.

I nodded, reiterating the logic of my justification for the uncharacteristic behavior. If I repeated it enough, perhaps I would believe it.

I didn’t count to three hundred as instructed. I counted to one hundred and twenty-three, then realized what I was doing.

“You’re mad, Sean,” I muttered, shaking myself and promptly leaving the ladies’ room. I checked the cufflinks on my dress shirt—a nervous habit—and strolled back to the table, eyeing the assortment of eejits gathered.

 

1459165672531

L.H. Cosway

5622223

L.H. Cosway has a BA in English Literature and Greek and Roman Civilisation, and an MA in Postcolonial Literature. She lives in Dublin city. Her inspiration to write comes from music. Her favorite things in life include writing stories, vintage clothing, dark cabaret music, food, musical comedy, and of course, books.

She thinks that imperfect people are the most interesting kind. They tell the best stories.

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest

Penny Reid

5997227

SEX! It all started with sex, between my parents. Personally I don’t like thinking about it, but whatever works for you is a-ok with me. No judgment. The sex happened in California and much of my life also occurred in that state until I moved from the land of nuts (almonds), wine, silicon… boobs, and heavy traffic to the southeast US. Like most writers I like to write, but let’s get back to sex. Eventually I married and gave birth to 2 small people-children (boy-6, girl-4 as of this writing).

By day I’m a biomedical researcher with focus on rare diseases. By night I’m a knitter, sewer, lino block carver, fabric printer, soap maker, and general crafter. By the wee hours of the morning or when I’m intoxicated I love to listen to the voices in my head and let them tell me stories. I hope you enjoy their stories.

Website | Goodreads | Facebook | Twitter | Newsletter

1460788096534

a Rafflecopter giveaway

IndieSageBlogger

Leave a Reply

