Eerie, C. M. McCoy – Book Review

1459165497497

28252234Hailey’s dreams have always been, well…vivid. As in monsters from her nightmares follow her into her waking life vivid.

When her big sister goes missing, eighteen-year-old Hailey finds the only thing keeping her safe from a murderous 3,000-year-old beast is an equally terrifying creature who has fallen “madly” in love with her. Competing to win her affection, the Dream Creature, Asher, lures her to the one place that offers safety—a ParaScience university in Alaska he calls home. There, she studies the science of the supernatural and must learn to live with a roommate from Hell, survive her ParaScience classes, and hope the only creature who can save her from an evil immortal doesn’t decide to kill her himself.

1459165556078

*ARC received in exchange for an honest review*

So, this is a paranormal romance, which I ABSOLUTELY LOVE! I am a sucker for paranormal romances, really. I just love them! I love everything about them. So, obviously I had to pick this one up.

The thing that I liked most about this book was the world building. Seriously, Colleen, A+ for the world building. I LOVED IT! It is kind of reminiscent of Harry Potter in some ways and I believe that that is the highest compliment I can pay to any book. So, there.

The flow of the story is good. It is fast paced and humorous and filled with adventure. There’s a ton of romance. So, yes, this book has something for everyone. You can’t say that you didn’t like this book because it essentially has something for everyone in this. Which makes it totally awesome in my books. Yes, it does. Totally, awesome.

The character development is great and I love how the emotions of all characters are projected throughout the story. They’re real and humble and help you connect with the characters a great deal. It is really, really heartwarming and heartwrenching at the same time. Like, the projection in this story is totally awesome. I love it, really. That’s the best thing about this book apart from the world building.

The only thing that I didn’t like about this book is the love triangle. Yes, there is a love triangle. Let me tell you something about love triangles – they’re my pet peeves. I hate love triangles with a passion. I simply cannot buy the fact that one person loves two other people almost equally at any given point in time together. Yes, you may love them both, but you always love one more than the other, even if you don’t want to admit it. And, of course, this is what leads to conflict and I hate that the character is moping, moping, moping about how they cannot chose, because to me, as a reader, the choice is kind of always obvious since the beginning. And maybe, you can chose the other character, but for the love of God, make your mind up and stop stringing the two poor things along!

Yeah, not really a fan of love triangles, so definitely negative points there for me. I do understand, to a certain extent how Haylie is drawn to the both of them, but I don’t really like how she’s going back and forth between the two boys, unable to decide who she should be with. COME ON, HAYLIE! Make your mind up, please!

Apart from this teeny – tiny drawback, this book is amazing! Really. The plot, the development, the characters, they’re all great. And, this is a great read! 😀

1459165616958

_20160402_202211

1460788046527

Goodreads | Amazon

1459165672531

I’m an Irish dancer and former military officer living in the Great White North. Though B.S.’d in chemical engineering and German, I’m far happier writing stories involving Alaska and a body bag (with an awkward kiss in the mix.) While working 911 dispatch for Alaska State Troopers, I learned to speak in 10-codes, which I still do…but only to annoy my family. In the writerly world, I’m the PR Manager at Inklings Literary Agency. My debut novel, EERIE, is fantasy adventure with romance and released 15 Dec 2015 through Omnific Publishing/Simon and Schuster. My memoir is out on sub through Martin Literary Agency, and my fiction is represented by Michelle Johnson.

Goodreads | Amazon | Website | Twitter

Leave a Reply

