Grin and Beard It, Penny Reid – Book Review

1459165497497

233378631Sienna Diaz is everyone’s favorite “fat” funny lady. The movie studio executives can’t explain it, but her films are out-grossing all the fit and trim headliners and Hollywood’s most beautiful elite. The simple truth is, everyone loves plus-sized Sienna.

But she has a problem, she can’t read maps and her sense of direction is almost as bad as her comedic timing is stellar. Therefore, when Sienna’s latest starring role takes her to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park she finds herself continually lost while trying to navigate the backroads of Green Valley, Tennessee. Much to her consternation, Sienna’s most frequent savior is a ridiculously handsome, charming, and cheeky Park Ranger by the name of Jethro Winston.

Sienna is accustomed to high levels of man-handsome, so it’s not Jethro’s chiseled features or his perfect physique that make Sienna stutter. It’s his southern charm. And gentlemanly manners. And habit of looking at her too long and too often.

Sienna has successfully navigated the labyrinth of Hollywood heart-throbs. But can she traverse the tenuous trails of Tennessee without losing her head? Or worse, her heart?

1459165556078

Okay, so, anyone who knows me, knows that I absolutely adore Penny Reid. I mean, I just completely, absolutely, totally, irrevocably love her and her work. She is JUST THE BEST!

tumblr_lp4dsspa1g1qbz5qno1_500

There is a absolutely no two ways about the fact that she’s a brilliant author and all her books are just so very amazing. They’re just so, so, so freaking good. Like, I literally have a case of heart eyes when I read her books. I just want more and more and more and more!

tumblr_inline_n9ihruUdwr1qmjizo

It’s just because her books are so very amazing. She has such a way with words that you cannot help but love her. Her books are smart, funny, quirky, lovely, full of amazing slow burn romance and so much fun and laughter! I LOVE THEM! (Like I already mentioned 10000 other times!)

tumblr_o6bj9h3hZP1re3x32o1_500

Okay, now, I guess we’ve spent a lot of time fangirling over Penny, so we should dive into the review!

18576607

So, let me start by saying SIENNA DIAZ IS THE WOMAN! GOSH, I LOVE HER!!!! I LOVE HER SO MUCH. She is absolutely freaking shit brilliant.

giphy

She’s smart. She’s beautiful. She’s humble. She is absolutely freakin’ hilarious! (Well, she has to be. She is after all an A – list comedian.) She kind of reminded me of Rebel Wilson. Which is all sorts of awesome because I ADORE REBEL WILSON!

PG9bkr5

But, she is seriously so amazing. She’s like my new role model. She stands up for what she believes in. She doesn’t take shit from anybody. She always speaks her mind. She is determined and hard working and she loves her job. She’s always trying to be better at what she does and she has an amazing passion and drive for the things she loves. Yes, she is like the perfect woman. Now you know why I love her so much!

1464707934275

She is also a closet romantic. On the outward, she says she doesn’t want to settle down, but she does crave a family, a partner and her life to be filled with a lot of love. Which, makes absolute sense because she has so much love to give.

1464708145253

While she maybe a hopeless romantic, she still is a little cynical and a whole lot sarcastic. Seriously, there are so many facets to this woman’s characters that I could talk the whole day and still not scratch the surface. She is just this multi dimensional, loving, kind, complex, giggly girly woman who is just about everything awesome in the world.

1464707376802

Now, talking about Jethro. He is such an amazing BOOK BOYFRIEND! Like, make room ladies, your latest, probably the most amazing one as of late, Book Boyfriend has arrived. And, he is all sorts of amazing.

1464707564386

I can hear you sighing all the way from here, woman. Keep it down! I know he’s absolutely amazing, but, yeah. Put a stop to it!

So, Jethro. He’s done a lot of questionable things in his past, but one incident changed his life forever and since then, he’s been the best version of himself. He gave up all his vices, turned his life around and became this absolutely wonderful, wonderful man.

1464708563959

He is also a hopeless flirt. He’s charming and sexy and gorgeous and his mouth just spits honey. So, yeah, he just flirts without even trying. It makes him all the more desirable, though.

1464707170591

He’s also kind and caring and beautiful. He just gives and gives and gives. He’s such an amazing man. Always ready to help anybody, keeping his best foot forward, just being this amazing, amazing person. He never hesitates to help anybody, is always running around, trying to make others happy. I love that about him.

unnamed

And, he seriously has a way with words. He just knows the right things to say at the right time. I mean, I swooned more than once just listening to him. He is absolutely perfect. Just so, so, so very amazing.

1464708030293

Yeah, swoons, right? I just absolutely adore him. There aren’t words enough to tell you guys how much I adore him. He is absolutely friggin’ perfection. Just absolutely, completely, amazingly, perfect.

1464707745537

Now, coming to the story! It is so, so well written. Penny promised us some slow burn in this one and did she deliver?!?! Oh my! I was just so invested in the characters from the very beginning and they were just getting lost in their heads and trying to maintain a distance and what not, and I was just like, GET TOGETHER ALREADY!

tumblr_nqx31rqTjH1re3x32o1_500

That was my thought process for most of time they were skirting around each other and I just wanted to bash their heads together and make them understand that they’re totally perfect for each other! There was so much anticipation and build up that I CANNOT EXPRESS HOW I FELT WHEN THEY GOT TOGETHER! I just celebrated!

tumblr_o5fen3yiZq1re3x32o1_250

It was just so fulfilling, like I’d achieved my purpose in life! Then, their relationship took off and the book got even better than before, even though I didn’t think that was possible! They were all cuddly and smoochy and cutesy. Like this adorably sexy amazing couple and I just swooned so much. And dreamed about them being together forever.

1464708669811

And then they fell in love and things got even better and so much more interesting and there was so much drama and love and happiness and longing and anxiety in those last 5 chapters where they made their way to their happily ever after that I JUST LOVED IT!

It just put fuel to the fire and made their final meeting so, so much better. Just, more of that intensely amazing slow burn came into play.

1464708399081

So, after all the swooning, I don’t think there is much left to say! Thank you, Penny, for writing this amazing book!

tumblr_mbj2jx1NZ21re3x32o1_250

It is one new amazing feather in your amazingly awesome hat. Just keep being awesome and writing all these beautiful stories! YOU MAKE THE WORLD A BETTER PLACE!

tumblr_o4zbecLOll1re3x32o1_500

1459165616958

_20160402_202131

1460788046527

Goodreads | Amazon

1459166946983

23314731

Identical twins Beau and Duane Winston might share the same devastatingly handsome face, but where Beau is outgoing and sociable, Duane is broody and reserved. This is why Jessica James, recent college graduate and perpetual level-headed good girl, has been in naïve and unhealthy infatuation with Beau Winston for most of her life.

His friendly smiles make her tongue-tied and weak-kneed, and she’s never been able to move beyond her childhood crush. Whereas Duane and Jessica have always been adversaries. She can’t stand him, and she’s pretty sure he can’t stand the sight of her…

But after a case of mistaken identity, Jessica finds herself in a massive confusion kerfuffle. Jessica James has spent her whole life paralyzed by the fantasy of Beau and her assumptions of Duane’s disdain; therefore she’s unprepared for the reality that is Duane’s insatiable interest, as well as his hot hands and hot mouth and hotter looks. Not helping Jessica’s muddled mind and good girl sensibilities, Duane seems to have gotten himself in trouble with the local biker gang, the Iron Order.

Certainly, Beau’s magic spell is broken. Yet when Jessica finds herself drawn to the man who was always her adversary, now more dangerous than ever, how much of her level-head heart is she willing to risk?

Goodreads | Amazon

1459165672531

5997227

SEX! It all started with sex, between my parents. Personally I don’t like thinking about it, but whatever works for you is a-ok with me. No judgment. The sex happened in California and much of my life also occurred in that state until I moved from the land of nuts (almonds), wine, silicon… boobs, and heavy traffic to the southeast US. Like most writers I like to write, but let’s get back to sex. Eventually I married and gave birth to 2 small people-children (boy-6, girl-4 as of this writing).

By day I’m a biomedical researcher with focus on rare diseases. By night I’m a knitter, sewer, lino block carver, fabric printer, soap maker, and general crafter. By the wee hours of the morning or when I’m intoxicated I love to listen to the voices in my head and let them tell me stories. I hope you enjoy their stories.

Website | Goodreads | Amazon | Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest | Newsletter

(PS : None of the images are mine. Thank you, Pinterest. <3)

Happy Readings, you guys! 🙂

And, please tell me about your favorite Penny Reid novel! Did you read Grin and Beard It? Did you like it? Hit me in the comment section! I love to talk to you guys! 😀

4 thoughts on “Grin and Beard It, Penny Reid – Book Review

  1. Great review! 🙂 This book looks very interesting, I am definitely going to check it out. I have read Neanderthal Seeks Human by the same author and it was really good!

    Like

    • That’s what got me started on Penny! She’s so amazing! Since Neanderthal Seeks Human, I’ve finished reading all of her books! She’s so freaking shit amazing! I love her and just adore all her writing! ❤
      You should read her books. All of them!

      Like

      • Wow! All books? You must really like Penny Reid’s books, and after reading Neanderthal Seeks Human, I’m pretty sure they are amazing! 😀 Which book would you recommend from this author?

        Like

      • Yeah, I’m a bit of a Penny fanatic! But, other than Neanderthal Seeks Human, there’s Neanderthal Marries Human which is a sort super extended epilogue. But I LOVE IT! And then, the first book in the Rugby series – The Hooker and The Hermit. The second one in the Winston Brothers series – Grin And Beard It. These four are my all time favs! YOU HAVE TO READ THOSE! And the Elements of Chemistry series is also pretty awesome!

        Like

Leave a Reply

