Harry Potter & The Cursed Child, JK Rowling, Jack Thorne & John Tiffany – Book Review

1459165497497

615s-d3gm7l

It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband and father of three school-age children.

While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places.

 

 

 

 

1459165556078

Okay, so I’m on a blogging hiatus, because I’ve got these big exams coming up and I’m supposed to be studying! But, this is Harry Potter, we’re talking about! Of course, we all know, I’d have regretted not reading it the minute it came out and even more if I didn’t get to speak about it.

I mean, what use is a book blog if I can’t even fangirl over Harry Potter! Merlin’s Beard it’s a blasphemy!

So, like everybody else, when the announcement for the play was made, I was heartbroken, because, you know, I can’t really mass up the galleons required to make the trip from Mumbai to London just for the play. I was devastated. Heartbroken. But, then the script release was announced and everything was right in the world again! And there were celebrations, obviously!

http---mashable.com-wp-content-gallery-triumph-harry-potter

It was like I was going home again!

daniel-radcliffe-birthday-july-23-2013-harry-potter-gifs-sorcerers-stone

And then, the day came! Finally, my copy was delivered, even if it was two days too late (Get better at customer satisfaction, Amazon! We PREORDER so that the book is delivered on RELEASE DAY and not after that!) And then, I dove right into it, no holds barred!

I’ll be honest, I didn’t really enjoy it in the beginning. It wasn’t as captivating as all the other Harry Potter stories I’d read and there was a time I even considered just fucking DNFing and that is huge, because to DNF HARRY POTTER? That should be considered a sin. But, it did happen. And I got over it and read anyway. Because, frankly speaking, I don’t know how to abandon Harry. I never have known and I never will. I mean, they could do their worst, but Harry is my childhood and he’s one of my best friends and I’m never deserting him, ever. No matter how hard things get.

tumblr_mfk0wx2Hcp1rlr2dlo1_500

I stuck it through and I’m glad I did. Because, as the story moved forward, it did get better. It got a whole lot better and I fell in love with Albus and Scorpius, the way I fell in love with Harry, Ron & Hermione. They’re brave and loving and kind and just about what is good in the world. They’re also a bunch of dunderheads and I love them!

Things weren’t really all that great between Harry and his son and as he grew up, it felt as if the distance between them increased till they were practically strangers (which I hate! Because, I always thought that Harry would never let anything like this happen to his family. He, of all people really understands what it’s like to not have a proper family and I really expected better.)

And, then, Harry is dreaming and Albus and Scorpius are grappling with things far beyond their control and Draco is out of his mind with worry and I’m just like – I didn’t want things to end up this way. I want them to pull through and be happy. But, of course, it’s Harry and so things got worse before they got better! Which, I’m thankful for! But, it brought me to tears, especially that one scene which I never ever dreamed in my worst nightmares (you’ll know exactly what I’m talking about when you get there, trust me!) and I was bawling and thinking “HOW COULD YOU, JO? THAT IS THE EPITOME OF CRUEL!”

anigif_original-grid-image-8603-1403795455-4

(SPOILERS AHEAD! DO NOT READ IF YOU HAVEN”T READ THE BOOK OR WATCHED THE PLAY!)

I hated the fact that it solely focused on Al and we saw very little of Rose, James & Lily! I’m so disappointed that Teddy didn’t even get a fucking shit mention! I would have loved to seen them – they’re all Harry’s family and we may argue that this was Al’s story, but in the end, it’s as much of Harry’s story as it is Al’s and they’re Al’s family, too. I refuse to think that Al would have become such a pariah after starting school and that Rose would just wash her hands off of him. NO WAY!

And, where I can totally understand why Al wanted to get sorted in Slytherin (because of Scorp, obviously), I still am having a hard time digesting it, because in my mind, Rose, Al and Scorp were the new golden trio, all stupid, reckless and brave Gryffindors!

I also hated that Luna got no mention! Neville’s was limited to ‘Give Neville our love’! None of the Weasleys were mentioned apart from Ron, Hermione and Rose and that hurt! And that there was not much to know about what exactly had transpired in the last nineteen years.

Also, Voldy and Bella is dumb, overused, unbelievable fanfic moment #394 that I’ve always detested! It is totally out of character for Voldemort to do something like that because he believed he was immortal. So, he didn’t need an heir ‘just in case’. I seriously couldn’t believe that actually happened when I read it because come on, Jo! You’re supposed to do better than all us measly fanfic writers!

tumblr_m599qm8lju1qg09dv

Though, the one thing I adored has to be the fact that no matter how much you meddle with time, no matter who they’re married to, Ron and Hermione are madly in love with each other! I was heartbroken with that uproar of Harmony after that one interview by Jo and this brings me a lot of happiness because I’ve always, always been a firm supporter of Romione.

tumblr_o08ugbPHpM1ukgpp0o1_500

(AND I’M DONE SPOILING!)

All in all, while it was a great story, it could have been so much better and definitely longer. I must say, in some ways, I feel that we have wronged Harry by this story because while it’s brilliant in its own way, it will never compare what preceded it, and in ways, we didn’t wait nine years for this.

If I look at it objectively, I would probably give it a 4.5, but it didn’t really meet the expectations I had been holding out from the new Harry Potter story. It was just a touch shy of being brilliant and it could have been so much better, if done rightly.

I’m not saying that it didn’t strike the right chords with me, because it did, in ways and there were points where I was laughing so hard I almost fell and there were parts where I sobbed my heart out, but I think it disappointed me a little. And, maybe, all my emotions were because it’s Harry and not because of the story. I haven’t been able to decipher that, but it maybe a possibility.

I think that this is really better suited for a play, because maybe the dialogue didn’t really emote the way it was supposed to. And I can now appreciate why Jo thought that this was better suited as a play. But, I wouldn’t mind watching the movie, because I have a feeling that this time, the movie maybe better than the book!

All in all, it might be worth your time, but many of us will probably think of this as a fan fiction and nothing more.

1459165616958

_20160402_202223

1460788046527

Waterstones | WHSmith | B&N | Amazon | The Cursed Child Play | Pottermore

Have you read The Cursed Child? If you have, what do you feel about it? If you haven’t will you read it?

Drop me your thoughts!

Happy Readings! ❤

Leave a Reply

