Children of the Veil, Colleen Halverson – Blog Tour

children-of-the-veil-banner-851-x-315

1459165497497

32187611

Elizabeth Tanner has one goal: to find her mother in whatever dimension she’s imprisoned. But to do that, she has to face her estranged father, and to do that, she needs a shot of whiskey…or seven. But after an attempt on her life and the return of her lost love, she wakes up with one hell of a hangover and a whole barrage of questions.

Finn O’Connell doesn’t know why the Fianna want him to aid Elizabeth in her search, but he’ll take any excuse to be near her again. Together, they dive headlong into the shadows of her mother’s secrets and find themselves embroiled in a Fae rebellion that will test Finn’s loyalties and their love.

With the Faerie realm verging on chaos, Elizabeth and Finn will embark on a quest that will lead them from the streets of Chicago to London’s seedy Fae underground. But rescuing Elizabeth’s mother means journeying to a place Finn can’t follow, and Elizabeth is forced to make a choice between finding her at last or saving her own soul.

1459165556078

Okay, so this book! Gah! I really liked it. The world of Trinity is one that I’ve loved since the first book, so I was really excited to dive into the second one.

The story didn’t disappoint. It was really good to get back to these characters and this story. The plot is really interesting and the characters are great and varied. I loved how all the realms are portrayed and all the mystery surrounding Elizabeth’s mother is handled really well. The flow of the story is great. Nothing seems forced or awkward. Also, there is a plethora of different kinds of beings in the story which is really interesting. You have your Fae & Fianna, but other than that, there’s also shape shifters and vampires and demons and whatnot. I really like that. A whole lot. And all the Finn & Elizabeth feels! GAAAHHHH! I’ve been rooting for them since the first book and I was just shipping, shipping, shipping them so hard in this one as well!

Elizabeth, like last time, is head strong and brave and stubborn and adamant. I like how she’s always on her feet, ready to do anything to find her mother. The plethora of emotions that she goes through are so well described. There’s so many issues she needs to work through and there are so many hurdles she has to cross before reaching her mother. They’re all handled really well in the story and I like it. The best part of the story is how she doesn’t give into every whim and fantasy of Finn. She actually calls him out on stuff she feels is wrong and doesn’t fall in line despondently. But, all said and done, she loves him dearly and literally makes a deal with the devil to save him. I admire that a lot.

Finn, as always, is hot as fuck. He’s such a great character. There’s so much to his story and we learn a lot of his backstory in this one. He’s smart and quick and sharp. He’s an amazing fighter. He’s ready to go to any and all lengths to protect Elizabeth and that’s really heartwarming. Though he makes some questionable decisions, his heart is always in the right place and that’s what matters. He isn’t perfect and doesn’t try to portray himself as such. I really like that about him. He has no airs and owns up to who he is.

The one thing that I would change about the book is that Elizabeth is kidnapped once every 3 chapters and she’s always getting conked on the head which I don’t like. I mean, seriously. That stuff gets old after the first few times. Other than this, it was a great read.

All in all, a good story that I would definitely recommend to other fantasy readers.

1459165616958

_20160402_202211

1460012726178

Finn stood up and placed his hands on my shoulders, massaging my sore muscles. I turned my head to the side, allowing him access to my neck. He rubbed his thumb down my spine, and I let out a soft moan as the tension in my body released.
“The way you addressed that soldier tonight, and your oath to Phelan,” he said. “I have to admit, I was quite enamored by your display of power.”
“Oh, you ain’t seen nothing yet, Mr. O’Connell.” My fingertips hummed with aisling energy as he brushed my hair aside and kissed me between my shoulder blades. In spite of my exhaustion and everything I learned tonight, my body ached for him.
“I think royalty looks good on you.” He smoothed his hands down my arms, and breathed into my ear. “But then again, I think everything looks good on you, Princess.”
I placed my hand over Finn’s. “You just want to see me in a dress again.”
“I suppose I’m still stuck in the 18th century.” He stroked my hair, pulling my wayward curls behind my ears. “I’m not sure if I’ll ever get used to seeing women in trousers.”
I stood up and stretched, turning to the cot in the corner. “Well, get used to it, buddy.”

Finn grabbed my ass, and I squealed as he pulled me into his lap, the rickety wooden chair groaning beneath our weight.
“I could get used to these tight blue jeans, however.” Finn moved his hand down my hip.

“They are quite flattering in a twenty-first century sort of way.”
“I’m glad you approve,” I breathed into his ear, reaching back and placing his cheek close to mine.
“It’s just that a lady’s skirts made it much easier to do this.” Finn wrapped his arm around my waist and slipped his fingers inside the waistband of my jeans.
I gasped, grabbing at his hand—to release me or plunge deeper, I wasn’t sure.
1460788046527

Goodreads | Amazon | B&N | iBooks |

1459166946983

28240174Elizabeth Tanner is no Tinkerbell, and her life is no fairy tale. Broke and drowning in student loans, the one thing she wants more than anything is a scholarship from the Trinity Foundation. But after the ancient Irish text she’s studying turns out to be more than just a book, she becomes their prisoner instead. And when Trinity reveals Elizabeth is half-Fae, she finds herself at the center of a plot to save the magical races of Ireland from a brutal civil war.

As Commander of Trinity’s elite warriors, Finn O’Connell isn’t used to having his authority challenged. He doesn’t know whether to punish or protect the infuriating young woman in his custody. When he discovers the Dark Fae want to use Elizabeth’s abilities to control the source of all power in the universe, he’ll risk everything to help her.

At the mercy of Trinity and enslaved to the Dark Fae, Elizabeth finds herself alone on the wrong side of an Irish myth thousands of years in the making. Refusing to be a pawn in their game, Elizabeth has to fight her way back to the man she loves, but to do so, she must wage her own war against the magic that binds her.

Goodreads | Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo

1459165672531

14777224As a child, Colleen Halverson used to play in the woods imagining worlds and telling stories to herself. Growing up on military bases, she found solace in her local library and later decided to make a living sharing the wonders of literature to poor, unsuspecting college freshmen. After backpacking through Ireland and singing in a traditional Irish music band, she earned a PhD in English with a specialization in Irish literature. When she’s not making up stories or teaching, she can be found hiking the rolling hills of the Driftless area of Wisconsin with her husband and two children.

LINKS –

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads

Leave a Reply

