A Court of Thorns of Roses (ACOTAR #1), Sarah J Maas – Book Review

1459165497497

16096824Feyre’s survival rests upon her ability to hunt and kill – the forest where she lives is a cold, bleak place in the long winter months. So when she spots a deer in the forest being pursued by a wolf, she cannot resist fighting it for the flesh. But to do so, she must kill the predator and killing something so precious comes at a price …

Dragged to a magical kingdom for the murder of a faerie, Feyre discovers that her captor, his face obscured by a jewelled mask, is hiding far more than his piercing green eyes would suggest. Feyre’s presence at the court is closely guarded, and as she begins to learn why, her feelings for him turn from hostility to passion and the faerie lands become an even more dangerous place. Feyre must fight to break an ancient curse, or she will lose him forever.

1459165556078

*Edit* I have been sitting on this review for months. Yes, months! I read ACOTAR somewhere in end of January/beginning of February and I still haven’t posted the review. Since then, I have finished reading the entire trilogy and now, I finally am posting this! This has been sitting on my computer since I first read ACOTAR. I just never got around to publishing the post. *Edit*

ACOTAR has been an anticipated read for a long time and with all the people everywhere in a sort of SJM fever, I wanted to read this pretty bad! I bought the book after I won ACOMAF in a giveaway, because, obviously, I couldn’t read that one before I’d read this.

All in all, ACOTAR was okay. I didn’t really get the hype surrounding this one, tbh. The characters are nicely written, but nothing else stands out. The plot is painfully predictable. The climax was kind of anti – climactic. But, it’s the first in a series so I hope it picks up!

I like how determined Feyre is. She’s the man of the house and she takes her job very seriously. She provides for her entire family. Which is also why, I don’t like her family. Feyre is the youngest of them all and she has this huge responsibility on her shoulders. Her elder sister and her father just sit by and let her do it all. Furthermore, her sisters like to spend money on inconsequential things even after knowing how tight money is. Feyre’s boots are falling apart and her sister is cribbing about how she wants to buy an extra coat, when the one she currently has is in a very good condition. Why? How can she do that? Okay, moving on. I like Feyre. She’s timid, but when it counts, she’s fierce. She doesn’t give up easily and she takes whatever is thrown at her in stride. I like that about her. A lot.

And then, there’s Tamlin, the love interest. He’s an okay character. Nothing to write home about. I don’t really ship them, but I can see myself shipping them hardcore if things progress properly in the next book. I mean, Tamlin isn’t all that great, he can do so much better, but I can understand where his passiveness is coming from. He’s given up hope, but he loves Feyre and he tries to save her. Once. And he spares her life when he could have easily killed her in the beginning of the story. So, two plus points. I hope they increase in the next book. I don’t like him right now, but maybe, down the line, I could. Let’s see!

Then, there’s Lucien. He’s a good friend – to both Tamlin & Feyre. Which is nice. He’s a good character and I like him way more than I like Tamlin. So, yeah.

And, of course, Rhysand. He’s intriguing and annoying and arrogant and gosh! I want to like him, I do, especially after all he did for Feyre Under the Mountain and I hope someday I do. Right now, I like him okay – ish. I really hope that changes in the next one!

SPOILERS!

For the life of me, I couldn’t bring myself to like Tamlin all that much. I mean, yes, he could have killed Feyre, but he spared her life and somewhere down the line, they fell in love, but he never felt adequate. I didn’t like how he just sat by and let others do the work. Andras, Lucien, Feyre – he always relied on others to do things for him and never took any action on his own, especially when Feyre was in front of Amarantha and I hate that! Also, the one chance he got alone with Feyre in Amarantha’s cave and instead of making sure she’s okay after everything she’s been through, he tries to sleep with her. Like, what?!?!?!? I HATE THAT BIT!

Also, I didn’t like how Rhysand drugged Feyre Under the Mountain and had her sitting on his lap and dancing for him. How could he do that? More importantly, how could SJM write something like that? That is almost like the date rape drug, only Rhysand didn’t actually rape her. But, he did give her the wine without telling her. Which I do not like.

And, what was with the riddle? The answer to that is so painfully obvious? I deduced it even before Amarantha could spout it in it’s entirety and it took Feyre three months to figure it out? What?

OKAY! DONE SPOILING!

All in all, it was a pretty okay read. But, things get lit in the sequel, or so I’m told, which is why you should read this!

1459165616958

_20160402_202223

1460788046527

Goodreads | Amazon | The Book Depository | B&N

1459165672531

3433047Sarah J. Maas is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Throne of Glass series as well as the A Court of Thorns and Roses series.

Sarah lives in Bucks County, PA, and over the years, she has developed an unhealthy appreciation for Disney movies and bad pop music. She adores fairy tales and ballet, drinks too much tea, and watches an ungodly amount of TV. When she’s not busy writing, she can be found exploring the historic and beautiful Pennsylvania countryside with her husband and canine companion.

Goodreads | Website | Twitter | Instagram

 

Leave a Reply

