When Dimple Met Rishi, Sandhya Menon – Book Review

1459165497497

28458598A laugh-out-loud, heartfelt YA romantic comedy, told in alternating perspectives, about two Indian-American teens whose parents have arranged for them to be married.

Dimple Shah has it all figured out. With graduation behind her, she’s more than ready for a break from her family, from Mamma’s inexplicable obsession with her finding the “Ideal Indian Husband.” Ugh. Dimple knows they must respect her principles on some level, though. If they truly believed she needed a husband right now, they wouldn’t have paid for her to attend a summer program for aspiring web developers…right?

Rishi Patel is a hopeless romantic. So when his parents tell him that his future wife will be attending the same summer program as him—wherein he’ll have to woo her—he’s totally on board. Because as silly as it sounds to most people in his life, Rishi wants to be arranged, believes in the power of tradition, stability, and being a part of something much bigger than himself.

The Shahs and Patels didn’t mean to start turning the wheels on this “suggested arrangement” so early in their children’s lives, but when they noticed them both gravitate toward the same summer program, they figured, Why not?

Dimple and Rishi may think they have each other figured out. But when opposites clash, love works hard to prove itself in the most unexpected ways.

1459165556078

*Review copy provided by author. The thoughts are entirely my own and in no way biased.*

Okay. First things, first! Happy Book Birthday, Sandhya! I’m so glad that your baby is out in the world because now people can read it and fall in love with it! Just like I have.

tenor

If I had to review WDMR in GIFs, I would use this –

PG9bkr5

tumblr_o6bj9h3hZP1re3x32o1_500

tumblr_mbswavveuu1r83eiuo1_500

Okay, if you’re still not convinced that you need this book, let’s get into the long of it –

This book is amazing, you guys. Absolutely, phenomenally, completely, gorgeously amazing. It is so beautiful. It delivers the message in a nice, cute, simple and subtle way. Nothing is overdone. No gimmicks, no unnecessary drama, no theatrics. I like that. So very much.

Moving on to the characters. I identified so much of myself in both of them. Dimple and Rishi are the two halves that make up who I am as a person and that is the most beautiful thing I have ever experienced. You know, when I read books, I think, “Oh! This character is so me! Yes, that is so relatable.” I never knew how unrelatable it was till I read this. Because I have never seen myself reflected so deeply in anyone – right from my skin colour to my family to my life choices to my personality. Everything. I guess that’s what makes #OwnVoices so important. Because, if I had never read this, I would never have realized that I was never actually represented in all those characters I’d read before Dimple and Rishi. So, thank you. Thank you so, so, so much for that Sandhya. I shall forever be in your debt.

Okay. Dimple. What I like about her is her headstrong, go get it attitude and how ambitious she is. I like how she isn’t afraid to speak her mind and do what she wants even if it’s something her parents would disapprove of. I connected with her a lot with regards to moms. Her mom is always telling her to dress up, put make up on and generally be all girly. My mom is the same. And like Dimple, I don’t care about that stuff. So, we clash a lot when it comes to that. And then, I love how passionate Dimple is about her computers and coding. I’m like that about reading, so I identify with her need to do it. She’s so good. I love her as an MC and she has such a nice story arc. Her character development is awesome.

tumblr_lp4dsspa1g1qbz5qno1_500

And then, there’s Rishi. My cute, adorkable, lovable, little pie, Rishi. Oh, how I love him! He’s a hopeless romantic, like me. He likes to draw and he’s damn good at it. He wants to make a career in the arts but isn’t because his parents think it’s not financially viable. Also, like me. I love how he never gives up on Dimple and makes all her problems his own. He’s a good friend like that. He always wants to make sure that Dimple is happy. Which is absolutely cute and just what I would want in a boyfriend. Literally, he is just the best. I only have one question for him, though.

large1

All in all, it is an amazing book and you need to get your hands on it ASAP because you’re going to love it just like I do. I promise!

mygodthatsamazing

1459165616958

_20160402_202131

1460788046527

Goodreads | Amazon | B&N | Wordery | Book Depository

1459165672531

14834224

Hi, hi!

My name is Sandhya Menon, and I write books for teens. I currently live in Colorado, where I’m on a mission to (gently) coerce my husband, son, and daughter to watch all 3,221 Bollywood movies I claim as my favorite. Also, I love my cat a little too much, as you can probably tell.

Website | Goodreads | Twitter | Instagram

Leave a Reply

