Secrets of Skin and Stone, Wendy Laine – Book Review

1459165497497

34388622Something is wrong in Hidden Creek. The sleepy Alabama town is more haunted than any place fiend hunter Grisham Caso has ever seen. Unearthed graves, curse bags, and spilled blood all point to an evil that could destroy his gargoyle birthright. The town isn’t safe for anyone, and everyone says fiery Piper Devon knows why.

Piper wants to leave Hidden Creek behind. She’s had enough of secrets—they hide in the shadows of her room and tell her terrible things are coming. Too-charming city boy Grisham might be her only chance to save herself.

To survive, Piper and Grisham have to shed their secrets and depend only on each other. But what lurks in Hidden Creek still might take everything away from them, including each other.

1459165556078

*ARC received in exchange for an honest review. The thoughts are entirely my own and in no way biased.*

Okay, first things first. I LOVE THE COVER. IT IS SO DARK AND GRITTY. Gah! I love it! The cover drew me into the book in the first place and it is definitely one of those cover buy spurts we book mongers tend to have. I really adore the cover! 😀

What I liked about this book was the mystery. It was intriguing and kept up till the end so that the reader was hooked into reading. The first half was great, but towards the end, the book got extremely slow and I was just thinking that the author should hurry up and reveal the mystery already. Apart from that, I have no complaints!

I loved the characters so much. They weren’t overly done and just so real. I could imagine people like that and that was gratifying. I love that the book had a trigger warning in the beginning especially because it was for self harm. From what I know, it can be pretty triggering and anyone who is going into the book needs full disclosure. It was nice to see that that was the first page of the book.

It’s #OwnVoices because the author herself suffers from OCD and was into cutting like the MC Piper. I like how her character is handled. She is OCD. She knows it and she tries her best despite her circumstances. I like how her illness didn’t miraculously disappear on meeting her love interest or for whatever other reason because that is not how it happens. So, points for that. I absolutely loved that aspect of the book. Thank you, Wendy. I also like how the illness wasn’t demonized, how it didn’t seek to make Piper seem other. I also like how the author handled the issue of self harm. There aren’t many great ways to do it because at the end of the day self harm is self harm, but she did a pretty good job and for that I commend her. I also liked how these two things didn’t define who Piper is as an individual. She is strong and smart and intelligent and brave. I like her. I like her a lot.

Then, there’s Gris. He’s got the mysterious air to him. But, he’s sweet and caring. He doesn’t come off as arrogant or self centered and full of himself like boys in such novels usually are. So, I like that a lot. I like how dedicated he is. He’s ready to go to so many lengths to save Piper. And then, he’s on a mission to prove to his father that he is worthy enough. His struggles were showed nicely. I like how the author showcased that even he was insecure in himself and his capabilities. Frankly, we need more such boys because more often than not, the male MCs are shown as untouchable and arrogant and without a care in the world. And Gris was nothing like that which automatically put him in my good graces.

And then, there’s the shipping. It was a bit of an insta love with the enemies to lovers kind of trope but I enjoyed it. Their relationship was nice to read about as it unfolded and they had plenty of cute moments which made me all the more happy because I am such a sucker for romance. I like how things were tied up with their relationship in the end. It was a bit open ended but it was realistic because Gris was never meant to stay in Hidden Creek, so the hopeful note at which it ended where it could go on to be more but maybe not was fitting.

All in all, I really enjoyed the book. It had all the elements of an interesting read and I would recommend it to people who are looking for paranormal romance. 🙂

1459165616958

_20160402_202211

 

1460788046527

Goodreads | Amazon

 

Leave a Reply

