Stormrise, Jillian Boehme – Blog Tour

storm tour banner
1459165497497

43263248A combat warrior will risk everything to awaken the dragons and save her kingdom in Jillian Boehme’s epic YA Fantasy debut, Stormrise, inspired by Twelfth Night and perfect for fans of Tamora Pierce.

If Rain weren’t a girl, she would be respected as a Neshu combat master. Instead, her gender dooms her to a colorless future. When an army of nomads invades her kingdom, and a draft forces every household to send one man to fight, Rain takes her chance to seize the life she wants.

Knowing she’ll be killed if she’s discovered, Rain purchases powder made from dragon magic that enables her to disguise herself as a boy. Then she hurries to the war camps, where she excels in her training—and wrestles with the voice that has taken shape inside her head. The voice of a dragon she never truly believed existed.

As war looms and Rain is enlisted into an elite, secret unit tasked with rescuing the High King, she begins to realize this dragon tincture may hold the key to her kingdom’s victory. For the dragons that once guarded her land have slumbered for centuries . . . and someone must awaken them to fight once more.

1459165556078

*ARC received as a part of a blog tour. The thoughts are entirely my own and in no way biased.*

Stormrise follows the story of Rain, a girl, who disguises herself as a boy, her twin brother, and takes his place in a war. As she grapples to keep her true identity a secret, and to fight for the honour of her father, and her country, she stumbles upon something that could help them win the war. But at what price?

This was a good book. The writing was crisp and succulent, the actions sequences were well done, the plot was easy to keep up with. But, somehow, I just didn’t really like Rain as much as I’d thought I would, and that kinda made it difficult for me to get through with this because I just didn’t really care about her enough to see her win.

What I loved the most about this was definitely the dragon folk lore and everything surrounding it. The way dragons have been incorporated in this book is truly commendable and I admire the author for doing it such justice. The whole mystery surrounding the dragons, and my need to see them was the main motivation in reading this book and finishing it off so quickly.

Another thing that I liked was that this didn’t have a lot of long descriptions. I’m not really a big fan of those, so it was nice to read a book where we didn’t have to know the colour of the trees that passed by. On the other hand, maybe a little description about certain things would’ve been nice.

The social commentary in this book is brilliant. I loved how the author tried to show the contrast in how Rain was treated when she was a boy as compared to when she was a girl. It just sent the message across so well and drove home the point that women do face a lot of struggles as members of the society at every turn.

All in all, this was a pretty decent book and I had fun reading it. 🙂

1459165616958

_20160402_202223

 

1460788046527

Goodreads | Amazon | B&N | Book Depository | Kobo | Google Books

1459165672531

7234281

JILLIAN BOEHME is known to the online writing community as Authoress, hostess of Miss Snark’sFirst Victim, a blog for aspiring authors. In real life, she holds a degree in Music Education, sings with the Nashville Symphony Chorus, and home schools her remaining youngster-at-home. She’s still crazy in love with her husband of more than thirty years and is happy to be surrounded by family and friends amid the rolling knolls of Middle Tennessee.

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

1463045131881

September 10th

September 11th

L.M. Durand – Guest Post
The Reading Corner for All – Review + Favourite Quotes

September 12th

NovelKnight – Story Behind The Cover
Phannie the ginger bookworm – Review + Favourite Quotes
Wishful Endings – Review
Hauntedbybooks – Review

September 13th

My Bookish Escapades – Official Book Playlist
Moonlight Rendezvous – Review + Favourite Quotes
Lost in Storyland – Review
Kyera’s Library – Review
Discover Elysian – Review + Playlist + Favourite Quotes

September 14th

Story-eyed Reviews – Interview

September 15th

A Dream Within A Dream – Top 10 List
The Reading Life – Interview
Sometimes Leelynn Reads – Review + Playlist + Dream Cast
Novel Nerd Faction – Review + Playlist
Jrsbookreviews – Review

September 16th

To All The Books I’ve Read Before – Review + Playlist + Dream Cast
Frayed Books – Review
Port Jericho – Review
Milky way of books – Review

1460788096534

[1] 1 of 4 finished copies of Stormrise (US/CAN only)

Rafflecopter

[2] A finished copy of Stormrise (US/CAN only)

Instagram

L

How excited are you for Stormrise? What part are you most excited for? What’s your favourite fantasy featuring dragons?

1547122001166

One thought on “Stormrise, Jillian Boehme – Blog Tour

  1. Ooooh the blurb sounds very interesting. The story is also an interesting take on the whole girl-dresses-as-a-boy theme. I understand what you mean, sometimes not connecting to the protagonist makes holding being invested in the story line a little difficult. Lovely review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s